favorite children’s books: part 1

I don’t know what it is about children’s books that makes them so appealing. The pictures, the stories, the cuteness and the memories. I think we all have favorite books from our childhoods, books that our Mums and Daddies, big sisters and brothers, and grandparents read to us or we’ve read to our kids or siblings.

My favorite thing about most children’s books are the illustrations. Grown-up books should have pictures, too. The illustrations are as varied as the stories themselves. So, here is the first part of my favorite children’s books in no particular order.

DSC_0479

Chrysanthemum and Julius, The Baby of the World both by Kevin Henkes- I love Kevin Henkes, hands down. His writing style, Lily, Chrysanthemum, and his illustrations are splendid. I love the part in Julius, The Baby of the World, when Lily realizes she actually likes her brother after her awful cousin insults Julius. Lily makes Cousin Garland hold Julius and declare that Julius is, in fact, the baby of the world!

DSC_0478

Fancy Nancy written by Jane O’Conor, Illustrated by Robin Preiss Glasser- I want to be Fancy Nancy! Seriously, to be able to pull off those outfits? Yes, please!

DSC_0470

The Little House: Her Story by Virginia Lee Burton- Virginia Lee Burton’s pictures are darling. And the little house of the story is so cute. I want a house like that!

DSC_0475

I Am Invited to a Party! and I Broke My Trunk! by Mo Willems- Can I just say how much I love to read Piggy and Gerald books? They are so sweet and so silly. These are two of my favorites! Gerald’s long, crazy story when he breaks his trunk and Piggy’s preparation for the party. So funny!

DSC_0476

How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World by Marjorie Priceman- If you can travel all around the world gathering ingredients to make a very fresh apple pie, then you must have read this book! I love the look of the pictures.

DSC_0481

DSC_0482DSC_0483

Miss Rumphius story and pictures by Barbara Cooney- When I was younger, I thought this book was called the Lupine Lady and I could never find it. Has that ever happened to you? You read a book when you’re younger and love it, but when you go to find it at a store or the library when you’re older, you can’t find it? I’m so glad I have this book, not only because of the story, but also because of the illustrations, the lupine pictures most of all.

What were your favorite childhood books?
Do you remember hearing them read to you?
Tell me about it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “favorite children’s books: part 1

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

