favorite children’s books: part 3

DSC_0477

Someday by Alison McGhee and Peter H. Reynolds- Someday…all mothers think about what there children will be like someday. They all have hopes and dreams and prayers for their little ones. Someday captures it all so beautifully, both in words and pictures.

DSC_0484

A Balloon for Isabel by Deborah Underwood, Illustrated by Laura Rankin- I love Isabel! She is so cute and so fiercely determined to have a balloon!

DSC_0486

The English Roses by Madonna- I was given this book when I was younger. I’m not quite sure how many times I’ve read it… Many, many times, I’m sure. The quirkiness of the illustrations is wonderful. (Why are the pictures the best parts of children’s books?)

DSC_0487

Angel in the Waters by Regina Doman, Pictures by Ben Hatke-I love Regina Doman. Her Fairy Tale Retold books are amazing and some of my favorites to read and reread. Angel in the Waters is a beautiful, life-affirming story of a child in the womb, speaking to her guardian angel.  The illustrations are beautiful, as well.

DSC_0494

Joseph and Chico by Jeanne Perego and Donata Dal Molin Casagrande- Just what the tagline says, The Life of Pope Benedict XVI as Told by a Cat.

DSC_0495

The Clown of God an old story told and illustrated by Tomie dePaola – I’ll admit it, every single time I read The Clown of God, I cry at the end. No matter how many times I’ve read it, I still cry as if I’m reading it for the first time. It is such a sweet story. I dare you to read it and not weep.

One thought on “favorite children’s books: part 3

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

