favorite children’s books: part 4

Today is the last day of the favorite children’s books posts (for now!). Ending with religious books that mean a lot to me is a good way to finish off, I think. All of the titles I’ve selected are either Christmas, Christian, or Catholic books.

DSC_0488

Tapestries: Stories of Women in the Bible by Ruth Sanderson- I love the look of this book. All of the more well-known women of the Bible are in here.

DSC_0489

The Donkey’s Dream by Barbara Helen Berger- The little donkey has a dream that he carries a ship, a city, a rose and a fountain. He is carrying Mary, the Mother of God, on his back. All those symbols are symbols of Mary. A sweet, gentle book.

DSC_0490

A Small Miracle by Peter Collington- There aren’t any words in A Small Miracle, but it forces you to really look at the images and absorb them.

DSC_0491

Saints: Lives and Illuminations by Ruth Sanderson- Ruth Sanderson did an amazing job on this book and its companion. The saints in here are from the 1st century to about the 11th. St. Catherine of Alexandria is on the front cover.

DSC_0492

More Saints: Lives and Illuminations by Ruth Sanderson- St. Francis of Assisi is on the front of this book. The saints in here are from the 12th century to more modern days. (I just realized as I was writing this post that I have three books on here by Ruth Sanderson! That’s half of the ones in this post. I must really like her books.)

DSC_0493

The Weight of A Mass by Josephine Nobisso, Illustrated by Katalin Szegedi- The Weight of A Mass is a beautiful way to show children how precious the Mass should be to them and to us as adults.

So, there you have it! Many of my favorite children’s books in no specific order. I’ll be going back to my regular review posting on Monday. Thank you for bearing with me and for sharing some of your favorite picture books. 🙂

Do you have any favorite books you’d like to share?

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

