The Hound of the Baskervilles~ review

DSC_0631

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes is at it again. Dr. James Mortimer has paid him a visit with a wild-sounding tale of the Curse of the Baskervilles. Sir Charles Baskerville apparently died of fright after seeing a giant hound, the so-called Hound of the Baskervilles. His death leaves his estate to his nephew Henry, the only known heir. Holmes is intrigued with the tale, but is unable to go with Dr. Mortimer and Sir Henry back to Baskerville Hall. He sends Dr. Watson in his place. But could Sherlock Holmes, world’s greatest detective, really leave a case alone? Of course not!

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the first Holmes mystery I’ve read. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Most mysteries all seem to be pretty similar, but Conan Doyle’s stand in a class of their own. I had the wrong person picked as the criminal! But that didn’t upset me too much. There are a couple of subplots that sort of throw you off the scent for a bit before being resolved. I love how Holmes sums everything up at the end. It’s closure, something I like in books. Sir Arthur’s writing style is simple and easy to follow, though how Sherlock manages to deduce so many things just by looking still stumps me. I think I understand how Watson feels!

After reading THOTB, I had to find more Sherlock. The stories are so very exciting, thrilling, and addictive! He has definitely made a comeback recently. I can see why, with the stories being such classics. I found The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and I’m working my way through it. So far, it’s enjoyable. I had checked out a biography of Conan Doyle a few months ago, but I was unable to finish it before having to return it. How aggravating. I’ll get it again and review it for you sometime. It’s called The Man Who Created Sherlock: The Life and Times of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle by Andrew Lycett, in case you were wondering.

Movie-wise, I’ve only seen Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows starring Robert Downey, Jr. I would like to watch the first movie starring him, and the BBC mini-series with Benedict Cumberbach and Martin Freeman. Have you seen them? Any thoughts, comments, fan-craziness?

Any other Holmes stories (book or movie) to recommend? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “The Hound of the Baskervilles~ review

  1. Pingback: Sherlock Holmes: A Study In Scarlet~ review | Alice In Bookland

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

