The Shadow of the Bear~ review

DSC_0997

The Shadow of the Bear: A Fairy Tale Retold– by Regina Doman

Blanche and Rose Brier live with their widowed mother in New York City. They live a quiet, simple life with their books and each other. Quiet that is shattered when a stranger shows up on their doorstep after saving Mrs. Brier’s life. Blanche, the elder sister, is frightened of him and wants him gone. Rose, the more adventurous one, is fascinated by the young man who calls himself Bear. Bear’s life hasn’t been easy, and he has some pretty dark secrets in his past. Will those secrets come back to haunt or even hurt Bear and the Briers?

I’m going to say it right now; I LOVE Regina Doman. I had the privilege of meeting her a few years ago, and she is an awesome, funny lady with a love of God and writing. The Shadow of the Bear is the first in the Fairy Tale Retold series. It’s a retelling of the tale of Snow White and Rose Red set in modern-day life. I love the book. Mrs. Doman ties theology, G.K. Chesterton, adventure, prose, elements of a fairy tale, and poetry all together the make a wonderful tale. There’s action and suspense for the boys, romance and true love for the girls. Win-win! 🙂

Of the two sisters, I think Blanche is my favorite. I relate more to her than to Rose. Bear has a bigger role in the story than his brother Fish. But don’t worry: Fish gets a book of his own! For being a short book, The Shadow of the Bear is intense. This book was written for teenagers, and as such, there are some content issues. For Mrs. Doman’s Picky Parent Guide, click here. There are spoilers, so read with caution! I love all of Regina Doman’s fairy tale novels, some more than others. I’ll be reviewing all the rest of them, except the newest one, over the next two weeks.

Have you read any of Mrs. Doman’s books? Which is your favorite? Tell me in the comments!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

