burning questions!

DSC_0850
{picture by me}

I have a few burning questions I would love to be answered by y’all my readers. I’m super nosy like that, you know. 😉 Spill all your book secrets!!!

Question time! Leave a comment if you feel the need to answer any or all of the questions. I love comments. 🙂 I’ll try to answer the questions to give you an idea of what I’m asking you.

What is the best book-to-movie adaptation you’ve ever seen? (Best as in most like the book in your mind.) 

I would say it’s a toss-up between Anne of Green Gables (the first one) and the 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice.

What is the worst book-to-movie adaptation you’ve ever seen? (Worst as in as far from the book as possible.)

Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story and Percy Jackson: The Sea of Monsters. *sigh* There are no words for how much of a travesty those movies are. Can we say destroying the story much???

What is your favorite book-to-movie adaptation? (Doesn’t matter how close it is to the book, just how much you like it!)

The Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit movies. Anne of Green Gables one and two. I also really like the Hallmark series When Calls the Heart. 🙂

What book have you read the most? + an average number of times you think you’ve read the book.

Ummm….. Good question! Either Eight Cousins or An Old-Fashioned Girl, both by Louisa May Alcott. I’ve probably read them both about 70-75 times. That’s just a rough guess, though. Another close one is Anne of the Island, my favorite of all the Anne books.

What was the most disappointing book/book series you’ve ever read? 

Don’t cast me out, but I was seriously disappointed in the Hunger Games trilogy. Out of all of them, Catching Fire was the only one I even tolerated. I didn’t like the other ones at all.

What book/book series do you think has lived up to all the hype about it?

Was there ever any hype about Shannon Hale’s Books of Bayern? I love those books! They’re fairy tale retellings. I haven’t read the second, third, or fourth ones in a long time. I do have the first one, (got it for a trip), and it’s a retelling of the Goose Girl. That’s what it’s called, in case you’re wondering. 🙂

Favorite classic book and why?

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, Pride and Prejudice. Because Jane Austen is my hero.

What genre (eg. fantasy, classic, history) do you read the most?

I read everything. I tend to lean more toward history-like books, (because I’m a nerd!), fairy tales and Star Wars, (because I’m a geek!).

Best book series?

I’d say The Penderwicks books are the best series I’ve read. They are just so amazing and sweet. 🙂 I also like The Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Who is your favorite book character?

Can I have more than one? Well, since I’m the one asking the questions, I say yes! Feel free to say more than one. 🙂 I love Anne Shirley, Percy Jackson, Elizabeth Bennet, Han Solo (he counts!!), Gilbert Blythe, Meg March, Father Brown, Blanche and Rose Brier, Bear, Skye and Jane Penderwick (all the Penderwick sisters actually), and Henderson from The Boy on Cinnamon Street.

Biggest literary crush??

Gilbert Blythe, Percy Jackson, Mr. Darcy, Mr. Thornton from North and South (even though I haven’t read N&S yet…), Henderson from The Boy on Cinnamon Street, Ren from the Tiger’s Curse series. Sigh…

What is the best book you’ve ever read in the course of your whole book-reading existence?

Okay, this question is pretty much impossible to answer. It’s like asking a parent to choose their favorite child.

Thoughts on e-readers: love ’em, loathe ’em, consider them practically against your religion?

I’ll take option number 3, please.

Do you freak your friends out by the sheer amount of reading you do? 

Can I plead the Fifth on this one??

Can you do other things while reading?

I can read and knit at the same time. The secret is to hold the book between your toes. 😉 But it really only works on larger books….

Favorite snack while reading?

I eat lunch while reading. I love Goldfish, Cheeseits, and crackers, but I’ll eat just about anything while reading. Bad for the books, I know….

Favorite period drama? (This may not apply if you’re not it to that kind of thing.)

North and South, Pride and Prejudice, and Anne of Green Gables (one and two, avoid the third one like the plague as an adaptation. As its own movie, with no reference to the books, it is slightly tolerable.)

Seriously, if you have never watched North and South, you are missing out on something stunning. Everything about the show is wonderful. The cast, the costumes, Richard Armitage, the setting, the storyline, Richard Armitage…. Sorry, I have a bit of a one-track mind sometimes. 😉

Favorite superhero movie? Marvel or DC? (I just had to ask, even though it has nothing to do with books!)

Captain America: The First Avenger and The Winter Solider. Hands down, the Cap has my heart! And it’s Marvel for me. 🙂 Just because of Captain America, of course. Squee! I’m looking forward to the next Avengers movie. It looks pretty amazing.

How many books do you have and how do you store them??? 

I have a lot of books. I’d say a conservative estimate would be 350-400, possibly more. I’ve never counted. I need help with my book habit. And my sock yarn habit. But that is a different story all together…..
I really need help in the storage bit. I’m still on the lookout for a good bookshelf. 😛

 

So, leave a comment if you want to answer any or all of my questions! Thank you!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

