Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel~ movie review

DSC_0872

{Photo by me}
{Warning, there will be minor spoilers!}

I watched Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel (made in 1987) a couple of weeks ago. To me, it’s not as good as the first one, but oh, so much better than the third one. They seem to go steadily downhill… I took a few notes while watching it, so here’s my review. Not really much of a review… 🙂

Since the show was made only two years after the first one, all of the actors were able to replay their former roles without seeming silly. There were a few new characters, like Miss Katherine Brooke and all the Pringles. In regards to the storyline, there were much greater liberties taken with the story. It was a little hard to deal with at first. The novels Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island,  and Anne of Windy Poplars were combined into Anne of Green Gables: the Sequel. To me, it seems like material from Anne of Windy Poplars was used the most. That is where the Pringles come in. Oooo!!! I do not like them. “Smooth as cream, even when they’re working against you.”

I didn’t like many of the supporting characters. Another set of new characters were the Harris family. Morgan Harris is supposed to be a “love interest” for Anne, even though he is almost twice her age…  Morgan Harris had a massive entitlement complex, Katherine Brooke was snarky and rude, and Mrs. Harris was an old battle-axe. On a funny side-note: I had said something about Mrs. Harris being an old battle-axe (a phrase I picked up from North and South), and not even ten minutes later, Anne called Katherine the same name! Too funny. 🙂

The setting is still Prince Edward Island and also a fictional town, Kingsport. (At least, I think it’s fictional….) Avonlea and its inhabitants are really only in the story in the first half. Gilbert and Anne…oh, goodness… I’ll be nice and not give away what happens. If you know the story of Anne of the Island, then good for you. 🙂 The show is pretty Anneish, the setting is stunning, Marilla knits again (!), there’s love, romance, and loss. What else is there to love?

Have you watched Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel? Comment below!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

