venting

Pardon me while I briefly vent about classic books.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good classic. This is my problem: I start the book, have a hard time getting into the story, it is dragging on and on and on… Will it ever end?? Finally, it starts to become enjoyable! I understand what is happening, I’ve connected to the characters, and life is good. Then, BAM! Story over. Done. Fin. No more story. I’m left bewildered, confused, angry and more than a little irritated. Come on, author! You couldn’t have written just a smidgen more? When I get into something, I want it to go on. I’m the kind of person who likes finality. What happens to all the characters? What are their fates? Either write another book or finish it off. Don’t you dare leave me with loose ends. I will become very cross and sulk for days about it. Yes, I take my books very seriously.

I’ve had this problem quite a lot over the years. Ahem, not to point any fingers or name any names… *cough, cough* The Woman in White, David Copperfield, Silas Marner, Pygmalion, A Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre. *cough, cough*

Actually, I have the same problem with other books that aren’t classics. Like I said, every loose end needs to be tied up in a neat, pretty bow, (double knotted so it doesn’t get picked apart by the fans), by the end of the book. If the book is in a series, then at the end of the series, there had better be a good finish. Don’t leave me wondering what happens to the characters! You hear me, Eragon? Tiger’s Curse? Percy Jackson?? Yeah, I’m talking to you! I can’t really get mad at the classic authors. They are all dead. Contemporary authors, on the other hand….

Just kidding. I don’t get mad at them, just slightly displeased. I get over it pretty quickly. Unless, of course, I meet another book nerd who has the same feelings as me. I will rapidly bring back my angst for about twenty minutes to rehash what drove me nuts about the book. There will be gesticulating and much talking with the hands. Then I will calm myself back down and continue on with life. And wait for the next book to drive me over the edge.

I’m done venting now. 🙂

Do you have this problem? Any specific book in particular that drove you bonkers? Share it with us below!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

