Divergent ~review

DSC_0253

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Beatrice Prior has a choice to make. Now that she’s sixteen, she must choose which “faction” she will belong to for the rest of her life; Dauntless, Amity, Abnegation, Candor, or Erudite. Since she was born into Abnegation, Beatrice assumes that she will choose to stay there. That is, until her aptitude test results come back a little…odd. Or in another word, they are Divergent. Beatrice learns that she has equal aptitude for not just one group, but three. Which is not good, especially in a society that encourages loyalty to faction before blood and the necessity to have your purpose in life maintained. How is Beatrice, or Tris as she’s now known, supposed to survive being Divergent? Simple; pretend she isn’t. Walking that fine line is not for the faint hearted. It’s for the Dauntless…..

(Okay, I had fun writing the synopsis. 😉 ) I hadn’t heard about Divergent till I saw something about the movie coming out. My thoughts went something like this; oh, YA dystopian, Hunger Games knockoff, something like Matched, eh, no overwhelming desire to read it. I was curious, but my life wouldn’t have been over if I never read it. Plus, I’ve never seen it at the library. Convenient excuse, I know. 🙂 So, when I was sitting at the library for three hours on Sunday, I spotted it and decided, why not? There’s nothing else to read.

As a general rule, I am not a huge fan of YA books. Too much inappropriate content, drugs, swearing,…, etc. Sometimes I’ll find a rare book that is actually decent and readable. I wasn’t blow away by Divergent but I wasn’t irritated with it. I wasn’t thrilled with many of the choices that Tris made. She was unforgiving, leading to tragic consequences for another character, and brutal at times, but she was also selfless. I really liked her mother as a character, even though she was barely in the story. Yes, Divergent made me cry. I won’t say why, but it did. Then again, I cry reading most books.

As a book, Divergent was kind of Eh for me. I don’t think I’ll ever want to own it, but I will look out for the rest of the series. Maybe since I’m reading them after the craze, I’ll be able to find them easier! Yeah, sure, keep on dreaming…

(P.S. Like this post if you love the snowmen mugs!)

Have you read Divergent? What did you think of it? Leave a comment!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

