Zita the Spacegirl Trilogy~ review

imageimageimage

Zita the Spacegirl, Legends of Zita the Spacegirl, and Return of Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke

 I love graphic novels. There’s something really different about reading what is practically a picture book for older people. And I really love Zita the Spacegirl. I’m not sure how I was introduced to this series, but I think it might have been through Regina Doman, who is a good friend of Ben Hatke’s. She used him as her fight expert in a few of her novels. 🙂 Anyway, the story is this: Zita, the heroine, finds a strange device that, when activated, sends her and a friend to a different universe. She and her friend, Joseph, are separated when Joseph is kidnapped by alien robots. Zita teams up with a man named Piper and a giant Mouse to rescue him. I won’t tell you how it ends, but the stories keep getting better. Sadly, there are only three Zita books. More! Give me more!

Ben Hatke’s art is amazing. There’s so much detail in just a few pencil strokes. As for the characters, I love Zita, Piper, Mouse, Madrigal, Strong Strong, and One. They are all unique and laugh-out-loud characters. When I read, I rarely laugh out loud. I’m more of a silent laugher. So if they make me howl with laughter, that’s saying something. I highly recommend these books to all ages. Oh, and Ben quotes G. K. Chesterton in the front! LOVE!

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

