the Hobbit~ book and movie review

DSC_0255

DSC_0258DSC_0257

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

As I’m sure you can tell, this post was supposed to go up around Christmas time. It didn’t happen, but that’s life. I reread The Hobbit a few months ago and watched the movies about the same time, so I hope they are still a little fresh in my mind.

The Hobbit is a classic, beloved and enjoyed for years. It’s the prequel to the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Lighter and more whimsical than the trilogy, it seems to be more of a fairy tale than a history.  The hero of the story is as unexpected as his journey. Bilbo Baggins is a fusspot, to put it simply. He’s fond of the comforts of home and good food. He is a Hobbit, after all. But when a wizard shows up with a gaggle of dwarves, how can he not go with them?

Now, I’m not sure how this happened, but Peter Jackson managed to squeeze three 3 hour movies out of a book that’s about three hundred pages long, if that. I enjoy the movies, don’t get me wrong. Yes, there are many, many things that drive me over the edge sometimes, but they are still good movies.

What I liked:
The story was fleshed out more. The book seems to be the bare bones of what happened. Where did Gandalf go? What does a Hobbit hole look like? You know, little things like that.
I love the lushness of the landscape and the story. It’s so sweeping and dramatic.
I liked seeing the Dwarves and their wild, mad behavior.
Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield. ‘Nuff said.
And Bilbo. Ah! I love him. His funny twitches, his loyalty, his bravery, and just him. He rocks, he really does.

What I didn’t like:
The whole Azog storyline. No, just no.
The Battle of the Five Armies. Again, just no. My eyes were raw after. Never again.

2 thoughts on “the Hobbit~ book and movie review

  1. I also enjoy the movies but wish they had kept the lighter, more whimsical tone of the book! Over the past couple of days I’ve been rewatching the first two films in preparation for the DVD release of “The Battle of the Five Armies” tomorrow. I missed that one in theaters so I’m very excited to finally get to see it! But as I’ve rewatched the first two, I’ve been reminded of how the constant Orc chases and battles get on my nerves so, so much. That all felt completely unnecessary to me. Anyway…seeing Legolas again in the second film sort of makes up for it. =) Also, Richard Armitage is awesome (his voice is enough to make me swoon), but the highlight is definitely Martin Freeman. That man was born to be Bilbo. He’s seriously the most hobbit-ish person in any of the LOTR/Hobbit films.

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

