sock washing day

Last week, I washed all my socks. I had been down to one pair. One. Pair. Since I live in my handknit socks, this was unacceptable. Socks needed to be washed. Normally I just throw them in the wash with the rest of my clothes, since most of them are knit out of Regia or another hard wearing yarn, but I decided to just use Euclan this time around.

I normally wash my socks when they’ve gotten all stretched out at the top and they don’t stay up as well anymore. I think throwing them in the wash helps shrink them back down, but Euclan seems easier on them. It was pretty amusing having a bathtub full of socks.

image

To dry them, I laid them out on my blocking boards and turned the fan on high. I think I need a new method, since it took two days for all of them to dry. Two days of stepping over the boards in the middle of the floor. Maybe a drying rack would work better?

image

{Look at all the socks! I do need some new colors, like purple and yellow. And lighter blues. And orange. Good thing I have lots of sock yarn!}

I think the green heavier socks with the pink toes are some of my favorites. After 2015 is over, I’ll try to do a post of all the 15 in 2015 socks I tried to knit. 7 of them have been for me and I think the rest are presents? I don’t know for sure, there might be a few unaccounted for. Plus I have like three unfinished pairs that are missing a sole mate. Christmas knitting comes first though. Then the selfish knitting. Ha.

image

Now my socks are all clean and back where they should be; on my feet. 😀

One thought on “sock washing day

  1. Ha, I just washed four pairs of socks today! =) I try to wash them when I have three or four dirty pairs. I used to be so careful and lay them out to try, but now I just hang them on the clothesline outside. (I soak mine in the sink or one of my metal dyeing pots with Eucalan.) All of yours look great!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think. I love getting comments and I try to reply to all of them. Thank you!

